Teenage Star Stewart Collects Second Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Win


Kawasaki’s James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., won his second Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP race in a row at Vancouver’s B.C. Place Stadium. KTM’s Nathan Ramsey, of Temecula, Calif., won the Supercross Lites division.

Honda’s Kyle Lewis, of Henderson, Nev., won the holeshot in the Supercross Class main event with Stewart on his rear wheel. Suzuki’s Carmichael, of Havana, Fla., and Yamaha’s Chad Reed, of Menifee, Calif., started mid-pack as Stewart moved into the lead on lap one. Reed and Carmichael traded positions on lap 2 before Carmichael made the pass to secure the position.

Stewart led all 20 laps en route to his second-career Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP race. Carmichael was second while Reed was third.

“It was not the start I wanted,” said Carmichael. “If you want to put yourself in a better position, you can’t start the race like that. Only bad things can happen when you get a start like that.”

“It was a great race tonight, and I love racing here in Canada,” said Stewart. “My parents really helped me keep on track this week and come into the weekend really prepared. I do not feel 100% confident yet because I still have a lot of work ahead of me.”

Ramsey, who won last year’s main event in Vancouver, earned the holeshot in the Supercross Lites division followed by Honda’s Billy Laninovich, of Corona, Calif. Last week’s winner in Toronto, Davi Millsaps, of Cairo, Ga., started near last place and worked his way into fourth on lap four.

Honda’s Millsaps moved into second place on lap 12 but was unable to catch Ramsey. Ramsey picked up the win; Millsaps and Laninovich finished second and third respectively. Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites competition begins January 7 at Angel Stadium of Anaheim in Anaheim, Calif.

“This is a great race for me,” said Ramsey. “I had a great start and was able to pull away from the pack early on. I felt some heat from Davi (Millsaps) late in the race, so I put my head down and finished strong. I look forward to some great competition in the Supercross Lites class this year.”

World Supercross GP : 1. James Stewart (Kawasaki); 2. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki); 3. Chad Reed (Yamaha); 4. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki); 5. Michael Byrne (Kawasaki); 6. David Vuillemin (Yamaha); 7. Jason Thomas (Honda); 8. Nick Wey (Honda); 9. Heath Voss (Yamaha); 10. Jeff Gibson (Honda

Supercross Lites: 1. Nathan Ramsey (KTM); 2. Davi Millsaps (Honda); 3. Billy Laninovich (Honda); 4. Ryan Sipes (Suzuki); 5. Andrew Short (Honda); 6. Darcy Lange (Kawasaki); 7. Josh Hansen (KTM); 8. Ryan Morais (Suzuki); 9. Jake Weimer (Honda); 10. Michael LaPaglia (Suzuki).

Photo copyright TFS – Info SupercrossMedia


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password