Windham Leads Wire to Wire for Fourth Win


Honda’s Kevin Windham, of Centerville, Miss., won his fourth THQ World Supercross GP/THQ AMA Supercross Series race at Rice-Eccles Stadium in front of 37,143 fans. Kawasaki’s Ivan Tedesco, of Murrieta, Calif., won his seventh 125cc THQ AMA Supercross series race.

Yamaha’s Tommy Hofmaster, who finished second in the National Arenacross Series, earned the $1,500 Butterfinger Holeshot Award, with Suzuki’s Nick Wey in tow. On the same lap, Hofmaster, of Pearl City, Ill., crashed, allowing Windham to take over the lead. Series leader Chad Reed, of Menifee, Calif., started mid-pack and worked his way into second place on lap nine, but was unable to catch Windham. Yamaha’s David Vuillemin, of Corona, Calif., finished in third.

Windham Leads Wire to Wire for Fourth Win

Tedesco Caps Off Championship Season With Win #7

“I am so excited to ride supercross and get a holeshot,” said Hofmaster. “I think you could put an entire arenacross track on the straightaway here.”

“That was a great race tonight,” said Windham. “I am going to go into next weekend’s race in Las Vegas with the same attitude and hopefully I can walk away with the championship.”

Heading into Las Vegas next weekend Windham trails Reed by 12 points.

After clinching the THQ AMA 125cc Western Supercross Series championship last weekend in Dallas, Tedesco earned the $1,000 Butterfinger Holeshot Award and lead all 15 laps of the main event. Kawasaki’s Stephane Roncada, of Lake Elsinore, Calif., followed his teammate, Tedesco, through turn one and held his position from wire to wire, earning his fifth podium of the season.

Yamaha’s Brock Sellards, of Sherrodsville, Ohio, finished in third, marking his first podium of the season. Next weekend riders from the Eastern and Western regional 125cc divisions converge in Las Vegas for the Dave Coombs Sr. 125cc East/West Shootout.

“It felt great to wrap up the title last weekend, and come here to ride a race,” said Tedesco. “I am really excited to race against James Stewart next weekend in Las Vegas. Even though I won the title last week, I wanted to come here and dominate.”


THQ AMA Supercross Series 125cc Eastern Regional Season Standings
1.      James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 150
2.      Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Suzuki, 99
3.      Danny Smith, Middleton, Idaho, Yamaha, 98
4.      Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Kawasaki, 90
5.      Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., Yamaha, 85
6.      Ryan Mills, Clintondale, N.Y., Honda, 79
7.      Steve Lamson, Camino, Calif., Honda, 78
8.      Bret Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 74
9.      David Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki, 66
10.     Eric Sorby, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 59

THQ AMA Supercross Series 125cc Western Regional Event Results, Salt Lake City
1.      Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
2.      Stephane Roncada, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Kawasaki
3.      Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, Yamaha
4.      Joshua Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Yamaha
5.      Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Honda
6.      Joshua Summey, Stanley, N.C., Yamaha
7.      Matthieu Lalloz, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
8.      Michael Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Yamaha
9.      Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Honda
10.     Darcey Lange, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki

THQ AMA Supercross Series 125cc Western Regional Season Standings
1.      Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 197
2.      Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 147
3.      Stephane Roncada, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Kawasaki, 138
4.      Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, Yamaha, 127
5.      Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda, 117
6.      Greg Schnell, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., Yamaha, 90
7.      Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., Suzuki, 89
8.      Troy Adams, Brooksville, Fla., Kawasaki, 79
9.      Joshua Summey, Stanley, N.C., Yamaha, 67
10.     Joshua Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Yamaha, 60

THQ World Supercross Series/THQ AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Salt Lake City
1.      Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
2.      Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha
3.      David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
4.      Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda
5.      Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
6.      Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Suzuki
7.      Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha
8.      Michael Byrne, Temecula, Calif., Kawasaki
9.      Ryan Clark, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha
10.     Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda

THQ AMA Supercross Series Season Standings
1.      Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha, 333
2.      Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 321
3.      Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda, 290
4.      David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 253
5.      Michael Byrne, Temecula, Calif., Kawasaki, 191
6.      Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Suzuki, 188
7.      Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha, 180
8.      Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 155
9.      Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif., Honda, 145
10.     Grant Langston, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM, 111

THQ World Supercross GP Season Standings
1.      Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha, 321
2.      Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif., Honda, 300
3.      Tyler Evans, Canyon Lake, Calif., Suzuki, 264
4.      Grant Langston, Temecula, Calif., KTM, 228
5.      Ryan Clark, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 214
6.      Keith Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 160
7.      Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda, 146
8.      Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., Suzuki, 138
9.      Joe Oehlhof, Hesperia, Calif., Honda, 128
10.     Isaiah Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha
11.     Erick Vallejo, Dallas, Texas, Yamaha, 110

Info SupercrossMedia, photo (C) TFS


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password